Letter to My Future

Dear my future “H”,

I wouldn’t ask you to be rich with money. All I ask is that you are rich with knowledge. Please do not feel threatened by labels or certificates. They mean so much less than knowledge of Islam I pray you possess.

When you are knowledgeable, I know my prayer has been answered. I pray that you’ll be my other half who will help me answer our children’s questions when I have no idea what to say. I ask Allah to let you there to finish my sentences and teach me gently where I am lacking, for I know I am.

I’ll be grateful enough you becoming the light of my eyes. If we were meant for each other, if I am the luckiest girl Allah created for you, then I’m sure Allah will bring our hearts togother and make us fall in love when we finally meet.

How can I expect someone handsome and good-looking when I’m nothing but an awkward and average girl?

How can I ask someone funny when I’m nothing but a clumsy girl?

As long as you’ll promise to take and guard me to Jannah, I’ll be with you.

Well, eventhough I have yet to meet you, I pray that you’re always in the best of health, under Allah’s protection and barakah, no matter where you are. Although there is no way to determine how and where we will meet, my prayers are always with you, so that one day we will find each other under the best of circumstances.

image

Image source: Kak Rika Prihatiningsih IG account

Aamiin. 🙂

Your future “W”,
—Dini Fitriani Tjarma

Bontang, 12/10/2014,14:45 WITA

*ps: it was written after attending high school friend’s wedding. Was it a wedding’s effect? Heuheu.

Leave a Reply

